2018 Dragonfire Editions

Firestorm Forever, A Dragonfire Novel and paranormal romance by Deborah CookeI’ve been sick this week, which means that no writing is getting done. Being under the weather is a good time to catch up on other jobs, though, like formatting, and that’s what I’ve been doing. Updated versions of Kiss of Danger, Kiss of Darkness, Kiss of Destiny, The Dragon Legion Collection, Serpent’s Kiss, and Firestorm Forever are now available at all digital portals.

Serpent's Kiss, a paranormal romance and Dragonfire #10 by Deborah CookeThis included updating the series information. The series is now called The Dragonfire Novels, and numbers from 1 – 14, with every story having a whole number (no more decimals).

I also updated the print interiors for The Dragon Legion Collection, Serpent’s Kiss, and Firestorm Forever. Now there are dragons inside!

POD interior of Firestorm Forever by Deborah Cooke


A while ago, I found a fun display font with dragons that I wanted to use in my book interiors – now that I use drop caps, I knew that this font would be perfect. Here’s what it looks like on the page:

POD interior of Firestorm Forever by Deborah Cooke


Buying this font meant that I got dragon-y dingbats, too, instead of the stars used in the previous edition:

POD interior of the Dragon Legion Collection by Deborah Cooke

What do you think? I’ve very happy with these updates.

There’s more Dragonfire news, too, but I’m waiting on documentation before I can share. 🙂 Stay tuned!

New Dragonfire Covers

Along with renumbering the Dragonfire series, I’m updating the covers of my indie-published titles to make the branding consistent.

Here are the updated covers:

Kiss of Danger, a Dragonfire novella and #10 in the paranormal romance series by Deborah Cooke Kiss of Darkness, a Dragonfire novella and #11 in the paranormal romance series by Deborah Cooke Kiss of Destiny, a Dragonfire novella and #12 in the paranormal romance series by Deborah CookeThe Dragon Legion Collection, a Dragonfire bundle, by Deborah Cooke

The interiors have just had the series numbering updated, as well as my booklist. If you bought them before, you can download the new editions free at your portal of choice.

Instead of the Dragon Legion Collection being #9 and the novellas being #9.1, 9.2 or 9.3, the numbering now is whole numbers only (because that’s what Amazon likes best). Kiss of Danger is now Dragonfire #10, Kiss of Darkness is now Dragonfire #11 and Kiss of Destiny is now Dragonfire #12. (The jump happens because Harmonia’s Kiss is #5 now instead of #4.5.) The collection is outside of the series as a bundle because I can’t see another way around it.

You’ll see the new covers on your portal of choice before the series numbering gets fixed. That always takes longer!

Harmonia’s Kiss also has an updated interior, although the cover has remained the same. You can tell the difference between the editions by the book list—the updated one includes the Dragons of Incendium.

Next up, we’ll update the interiors of Serpent’s Kiss and Firestorm Forever. Since those covers won’t change, I’ll let you know when the new interiors have been uploaded.

New Editions at Amazon

The Beauty Bride, book #1 of the Jewels of Kinfairlie series of Scottish medieval romances, by Claire DelacroixOne of the challenges with publishing at Amazon is that the portal doesn’t always deliver the newest edition of any given digital book to readers. In the past year or so, they’ve posted rules about the how and why of updating books that readers have already acquired—a 20% change in the content is one guideline, which is a LOT of corrected typos—but it’s also become clear that sometimes when a book is updated, the previous version continues to be delivered even to new customers.

As you might imagine, this is somewhat vexing to authors. It’s impossible to know what version of a book any given reader has on his or her Kindle.

Today, however, I have a nifty solution for you. You may have heard last month about an issue with the location of the table of contents (the TOC) in Kindle book files. It’s a long story, but the end result is that Amazon decided it was not appropriate for the TOC to be at the end of the digital book. Many (many MANY) formatters, however, choose to put the TOC at the back, because the Kindle finds it no matter where it is, and because having it at the back means that it isn’t part of the Look Inside feature on the Amazon store. Readers get to preview more of the actual book if the TOC is at the back of the file. (This could also be corrected by allowing publishers to create sample files, as can be done at iBooks, instead of having them automatically generated, but that’s another issue.) My formatter has always put the TOC at the back. Even though Amazon later rescinded the necessity of the TOC being at the front, my formatter and I chose to go ahead with the revision of all of my book files.

Serpent's Kiss, a paranormal romance and Dragonfire #10 by Deborah CookeIt was a lot of work and not a job either of us were counting on, but there is a silver lining: the Look Inside feature on these books in the Kindle store now shows the TOC at the beginning. I hope this means that this newest edition is being delivered to new customers. The other perk is that if you have one of my books on your Kindle (or many of them) you can easily tell whether you have the latest and best version: look for the TOC. If it’s at the beginning, after the copyright page and the reader letter but before the opening of the book, then you have the current version. If not, you can ask Amazon customer service to update your edition with the current one.

The Amazon edition of all future releases will have the TOC at the front.

Note that we didn’t bother with the short stories and novellas, and also that you must have the current version (without DRM) in order to request the update. We still have a few more to do.

One More Time, book #3 in the Coxwell Series of contemporary romances, by Deborah CookeThe updated books, as of today, are:

Third Time Lucky
Double Trouble
One More Time
All or Nothing
The Dragon Legion Collection
Serpent’s Kiss
Firestorm Forever
The Rogue
The Scoundrel
The Warrior
The Rogues of Ravensmuir Boxed Set
The Beauty Bride
The Rose Red Bride
The Snow White Bride
The Jewels of Kinfairlie Boxed Set
The Renegade’s Heart
The Highlander’s Curse
The Frost Maiden’s Kiss
The Warrior’s Prize
The Crusader’s Bride
The Crusader’s Heart
The Crusader’s Kiss

Live at Overdrive

My updated files are now available at Overdrive’s Content Reserve. This is a portal for libraries to acquire digital books, but they also feed content to a number of other sites—including Waterstones in the UK, Books-A-Million in the US, Bookstrand in the UK and others. I can’t give you a link to check it out, because you have to be a Content Reserve customer to see their list.

The Beauty by NYT Bestselling Author Claire Delacroix

The new editions are for The Beauty, The Temptress, The Rogue, The Scoundrel, The Warrior, The Beauty Bride, The Rose Red Bride, The Snow White Bride (library edition, which includes The Ballad of Rosamunde), Once Upon a Kiss, The Last Highlander, The Moonstone, and Love Potion #9.

One More Time by Deborah Cooke

Newly added titles are The Countess, The Renegade’s Heart, Third Time Lucky, Double Trouble, One More Time and All or Nothing.

Just FYI – I don’t distribute the boxed sets through this portal because of the large file size.

Another update completed!